Sep 212018

A warm thank you to all the entrants and visitors to 49th Penn and Tylers Green Village Show on Saturday 15th September. Yet again villagers turned up to showcase their many talents, with stoic green fingered determination to defy the erratic weather, culinary prowess, artistic flair, needlecraft and all-round creativity.  There were many highlights not least our very own Star Baker Eddy Pitron, the winner of the Ann Wolfe Young Cooks Trophy and the WI Cup (Best Cake in Show)  beating all the other bakers’ hands down with a chocolate Swiss roll which had the judges pleading for the recipe.

Honours in the other junior classes were shared by Max and Adam Warby, Sophie and William Monniot and Lily Gurney.  Lily’s bug house made out of an old milk container really caught the judge’s eye and was awarded The Boyles Trophy (Best Entry in Junior Classes). The judge remarked it was both imaginative and well thought out and a good example of how everyday things can be repurposed.

Our blind judge, Mr Tony Hawkins travels all the way from Aylesbury every year.  In addition to the usual roses, herbs and tactile exhibits, he judged the tastiest popcorn and Lily Gurney’s widest sunflower head. The popcorn was a big hit and he is keen to taste more of the entries next year.  Each year we make a donation to Calibre (formerly Talking Books for the Blind) by way of thanks for his long journey and keep him supplied with tea and cakes on the day.

Roger Brodie reclaimed The Ken Stevens Trophy (Men’s Cooking) with a smoked salmon quiche whilst Hilary Standbridge’s lemon curd scored a near perfect 19 out of 20 to win The White Trophy (Best preserve). There are reports of sabotage in the preserve classes with spouses eating the last jar of more than one entrant’s hoped-for entry.  Fiona Holmes-Lubiewski showed that she is not only a talented photographer but also an accomplished cook winning The Robinson Trophy (Most points: Domestic Classes)

Andrew Barrow richly deserved The Gobert Cup (Best entry: flower classes) for some extraordinary dahlias.  Congratulations go to Jane Tapping who triumphed in the decorative and flower classes winning four trophies in all and amassing enough point to scoop The Cuthbert Cup (Victor Ludorum – Most points all classes).  Sally Ho’s miniature arrangement was a clever design as it almost looked as though it was flowing out of the jar on to the table.

The Doris Jennery Trophy (Best painting) was awarded to Sarah Warby, another talented member of the Warby family for a striking a piece of abstract art.  I hope there is shelf space for all the trophies.

Other winners were

Chris Arrowsmith               The Jollye Cup (Best Entry: Handicraft Classes)

Mia Gosnold                         The Price Trophy (Best junior Photographer)

Chris Holmes Lubiewski   Village Voice Trophy (Best Entry: Photographic Classes)

Generous thanks go to Vera Hall who donated her winnings (over £60) from the Crock of Gold to the show’s funds.   Each year we donate surplus funds to a local good cause and the taking from the door, to a nominated charity.  This year’s door takings were donated to the Royal British Legion in memory of those who gave so selflessly during the 1st World War

Thanks too go to the Morning WI for baking all the produce for sale on the cake stall, the Village Hall Committee for use of the halls, our sponsors, especially FMIFA who not only sponsor our schedule but also kindly donated wildflower seeds …..   and last but not least to the Committee for their work throughout the year, raffle prizes and baking all the cakes for the teas

Just before you go, next year’s show is a June show and will be held on Saturday 22nd June.

Please put the date in the diary.  We look forward to seeing next year it’s never too early to start your craft projects now the evenings are drawing in or even being prepared to volunteer to help the team prepare for 2019.  It’s relatively easy we just need a few more people to help us prepare!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Responsive Web Designing Company

Share This

Share this post with your friends!

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook